AutoPi -> Cloud Analytics Software

@Daniel_Blair and @SJrX both have discussed projects involving getting data into analytics software
AutoPi to InfluxDB Success is an example

Since I can’t post on those topics, i thought i’d make a new one for additional discussion.

For information purposes here is where I am in my quest:

2005 Chevrolet Silverado - that I really want to ‘upgrade’ partially as a personal project (I’m a Data Scientist by night ;), and partially because I have a sort of hope/desire that having this kind of live data from my vehicle will help me improve it (get ahead of maintenance, improve fuel efficiency, find better routes to places?)

My current plan is to send the data into Sumo Logic (They have free-tier accounts, and provide a whole slew of tools for working with the data) But the truth is that I’m really most interested in getting it into “any” cloud analytics tool.

I don’t currently have an autoPi, as it’s kind of an expensive ‘toy’ for me to get if I don’t feel confident I can make it work.

coming up on a year into the projects @Daniel_Blair what would you change?

Additionally, I have more experience with FluentD, and because it has a myriad of input and/or output plugins, it seems like it would be a great configuration because once I get the “input” side working, others later on should be able to swap out their own output needs to get data into whatever destination/format they desire.

Curious:
It would seem that this page Send device data to own server | AutoPi Documentation
is refering to exfiltration of data. Just to be clear, what data is/is not avaliable via this route?

I’m asking because I have read in other places “export the CAN data”, and to be honest, I am not sure if the CAN data is same/different whats being referenced in the above link?

Hi @Kenneth_Barry,

Cool to see people coming up with creative ideas using the AutoPi :smiley: